Our Leadership

Board of Directors

Lorrie Kline Kaplan (Co-Founder, President) has 20+ years nonprofit leadership experience in the Washington, D.C., area, including 10 years as CEO of the National Home Infusion Association and 8 years as CEO of the American College of Nurse-Midwives. Her expertise includes communications, organizational development, advocacy, and community organizing. Since 2016, Kaplan has focused her energies and personal development on accelerating adoption of climate solutions at the local level. She’s delighted to be living in Ashland with her husband Bob Kaplan since 2019.

Richard Barth (Co-Founder, Treasurer) is a 20+ year Ashland resident. Prior to moving to Ashland with his wife and young daughters he spent 20+ years in Silicon Valley working in research, development, and leadership positions. While living in Ashland, Rick has served in leadership and advisory capacities with multiple local nonprofit and government organizations. He is the immediate past Chair of the City of Ashland Climate Policy Commission.

Candace Turtle (Co-Founder, Secretary) has a background in communications and development. She served as a reporter and an award-winning editor for The Miami Herald and San Jose Mercury News, as well as in management positions. She later managed communications and marketing for Trend Micro, Inc. in its start-up phase. Locally, Candace has served as executive director of Ballet Folklorico Ritmo Alegre and managed communications and development for the Ashland Independent Film Festival. She currently heads Rotary of Ashland’s Environment & Sustainability Committee and sits on the board of the J.F. Kapnek Trust.

Dee Fretwell, MBA, CPT (Director) is a strategic consultant and full time Instructor at Southern Oregon University. Her expertise ranges across executive coaching, strategic planning, organizational design and transformation, and leadership development. Her industry experience encompasses SAAS, sales & marketing, professional services, manufacturing, publishing, financial services, and nonprofit development, grant writing and board governance. Dee has spent 20+ years working alongside small and medium sized for- and nonprofit business to best leverage their strengths while finding sustainable solutions for challenges and obstacles.

Susannah Cole (Director) is a native Ashlander who is deeply rooted in the Rogue Valley community, working in non-profit administration and communications since she returned to the valley in 2019. Susannah’s expertise includes marketing, grant writing, non-profit management, event production, volunteer management, strategic planning, bookkeeping and financial management, book publishing, web development, and social media. She is passionate about bringing people together through community and shared experiences. Susannah currently is Director of Operations for The Hearth, a local nonprofit focused on using the power of storytelling to combat disconnection, despair, and isolation.

Advisory Committee

Tonya Graham, Executive Director, GEOS Institute

Stu Green, Policy Manager, Forth Mobility; former Climate and Energy Analyst, City of Ashland

Adam Hanks, Consultant, former Interim City Manager, City of Ashland

Bec Walker, Sustainability and Recycling Manager, Southern Oregon University